Wednesday October 25, 2023
DAN Thompson was crowned the new British Under-19 Champion as the curtain came down on the 2023 season at Perry Barr on Wednesday.

The Nuneaton born youngster, who races for Ipswich in the Premiership and Leicester Lion Cubs in the National Development League, was many people’s favourite for the title - and he held his nerve in a dramatic conclusion to the event.

Thompson dropped just one point from his five programmed outings - but so did Scunthorpe and Kent’s Nathan Ablitt meaning a run-off was required to determine the Champion.

It was Ablitt who made the better start, but Thompson cut back cleverly off bend two before charging under his rival into bend three.

The move appeared to take Ablitt by surprise as he came down without contact and that handed the crown to Thompson who returned to the saddle having been sidelined for just over two months since dislocating his shoulder.

“With this being that first meeting back I knew it was going to be tough,” Thompson said.

“I was really pleased with the way I rode though and the changes I made along the way.

“Fair play to Nathan as well; I knew before the meeting he was probably going to be my main competitor and I had to keep putting the wins on the board to stay with him.

“I’m glad I’ve been able to win this one in my final year of doing it; I haven’t had much luck in events like this so to finally get one over the line is a great feeling.”

Meanwhile, British Youth boss Neil Vatcher said: “Congratulations to Dan who was, obviously, one of the standout riders of the night.

“Along with Nathan, they both rode very well and while Nathan was disappointed with how his night finished, he obviously played his part in taking things right to the very end.

“A big well done to all 16 riders involved though; this was a first British Championship Final for some of them and that experience will stay with them and stand them in good stead I’m sure.

“A big thank you to all the supporters that came out in such cold weather as well, your support for the lads and the event really was appreciated.”

Meanwhile, Dan’s twin brother Joe secured the final rostrum place by winning his last outing when up against direct rival Ben Trigger.

1. Dan Thompson 14 - After run off
2. Nathan Ablitt 14
3. Joe Thompson 12

Dan Thompson 14, Nathan Ablitt 14, Joe Thompson 12, Ben Trigger 10, Freddy Hodder 10, Sam McGurk 9, Luke Killeen 7, Max James 7, Luke Harrison 7, Mickie Simpson 7, Jody Scott 5, Vinnie Foord 5, Billy Budd 5, Max Perry 4, Senna Summers 2 Mark Parker 0

Share This:   Facebook Twitter