Wednesday August 31, 2022
FORMER Birmingham favourite Leon Flint was crowned British Under-21 Champion at Perry Barr on Wednesday.

The talented teen produced a flawless performance around his old track, easing through the qualifying heats with five wins before taking the chequered flag in the second staging of the Grand Final - after reigning Champion Tom Brennan crashed out of the first attempt in spectacular fashion.

Flint had by far the most support in the Second City, with a good number of Wolverhampton fans making the short trip, but he also remains hugely popular from his time with the Brummies in 2018, his first ever team spot.

Said Flint: "Even when we were on parade at the start of the meeting, hearing all the fans behind me gave me that extra one per cent to do what I did.

"I always enjoy coming back to Birmingham; this is where I first rode in the National League and I've always enjoyed coming back here ever since.

"I get on so well with the supporters here, I don't know what it is but it's a place that holds many special memories for me.

"It felt good to go through the card like I did in the Under-19s and it's just nice to get this smile back after a rough couple of weeks with plenty of travelling and bike prep."

The 2022 Tolley Badges British Under-21 Final served up plenty of thrills and spills as some of the country's brightest prospects took to the shale.

Leicester's Dan Thompson plugged away to earn a hard fought runners-up finish while Glasgow's Connor Bailey was right in the thick of the action on his way to third.

The final action of the season takes place at Perry Barr next Wednesday (September 7, 7.30) as the Curtis Sport Brummies renew rivalry with a Cradley Heathens Select for the Alan Grahame Memorial Trophy.

BRITISH UNDER-21 FINAL, at Birmingham
1. Leon Flint (Wolverhampton / Berwick)
2. Dan Thompson (Leicester)
3. Connor Bailey (Glasgow)
4. Tom Brennan (Belle Vue / Glasgow)

Semi-Final: D Thompson, Bailey, J Thompson, Ablitt (f)

Qualifying scores: Leon Flint 15, Tom Brennan 13, Joe Thompson 12, Dan Thompson 11, Connor Bailey 10, Nathan Ablitt 9, Jason Edwards 8, Henry Atkins 8,
Drew Kemp 7, Ace Pijper 6, Sam Hagon 5, Max Perry 5, Harry McGurk 5, Jody Scott 3, Sam McGurk 2, Vinnie Foord 1, Jack Shimelt 0

Share This:   Facebook Twitter