Tuesday July 13, 2021
BIRMINGHAM co-owner David Mason has urged everyone to throw their weight behind the return of speedway to Perry Barr on Wednesday (7.30).

The club suspended their season after a shocking attendance at the last home meeting as a consequence of elderly supporters being turned away with no admission allowed on the night and no internet access.

But with tomorrow night looking like the only remaining meeting where tickets must be bought in advance, hopes are high that crowds will flock to the stadium throughout the summer.

Scunthorpe are the visitors and they include former Brummies favourite Adam Ellis, a track specialist.

Said Mason: “As a club, we’ve got a massive few months ahead - and it’s going to require one huge group effort.

“From us as management to the riders, from our wonderful group of staff and volunteers to all the supporters, we all need to be in this together.

“We need as many supporters on the terraces as we can and we need to get this place buzzing again.

“It has its testing moments, but we still believe that Speedway can thrive in Birmingham and that we can continue working towards all of things we have been building over the past three years or so.

“Myself, dad (co-owner Peter) and Laurence Rogers (manager), as well as the boys in the team, would like to thank all the loyal Brummies for all of their fantastic, continued support - and we will do as much as we can to reward them with some fascinating contests, some breathtaking racing and hopefully plenty of league points between now and the end of the season!”

With the school holidays starting in the next week, Mason is also hoping to see an increase in younger fans over the six week spell.

Fans have to purchase their tickets in advance by clicking the link on the club website homepage. Anyone who needs assistance due to no internet access should call 07544 294420 and the deadline is 6pm Wednesday.

BIRMINGHAM: Chris Harris, Ashley Morris, James Shanes, Kyle Newman, Richard Lawson, Paco Castagna, Jack Thomas.

SCUNTHORPE: Adam Ellis, Simon Lambert, Theo Pijper, Tero Aarnio, Thomas Jorgensen, Jordan Palin, Josh MacDonald.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter