Friday August 23, 2019
BIRMINGHAM were well beaten 60-30 at Edinburgh - and are now sweating on the fitness of another rider ahead of Saturday’s trip to Berwick (7pm).

Danish reserve Nick Agertoft crashed out of the trip to Armadale on a tough night all round for the Edwards Plumbing Brummies.

It was a far from ideal start to their Northern Tour which sees them face three meetings in as many days.

Agertoft, who took advantage of a mistake from the hosts’ reserve duo to snatch the win in his opening ride, was an innocent victim of a Heat Four pile-up.

Team-mate Jason Garrity lost control on the last lap whilst leading, leaving Edinburgh’s Cameron Heeps and Agertoft with nowhere to go and the pair withdrawn from the fixture.

Brummies were unable to register a heat advantage all night against a dominant Monarchs side on their home Armadale circuit and had to settle for just the four heat winners.

Two came courtesy of No.1 Adam Ellis, who was also disqualified for crashing in Heat Nine as a tactical substitute, with Garrity sealing the other in the final race.

That race gave Brummies cause for concern though when Tobias Thomsen, who was re-signed by the Brummies in time for the fixture after being released earlier in the season, also took a heavy tumble.

Team boss Laurence Rogers said: “I gave Tobias the extra ride so he could get some extra laps under his belt.

“But he crashed out and took a knock - he’s confident he’ll be alright for Berwick though.

“We’ll have to assess Nick though because his ankle didn’t seem right at all and it was causing him some problems.

“We really are the walking wounded again right now and nothing really went to plan in this one.

“It’s not an ideal start to such a big weekend but we have to keep our heads up and go to Berwick with a fresh mindset.”

EDINBURGH 60: Sam Masters 14, Ricky Wells 12+1, Josh Pickering 11+3, James Sarjeant 9+1, William Lawson 6+1, Connor Coles 5+3, Cameron Heeps 3.
BIRMINGHAM 30: Adam Ellis 9+1, Tero Aarnio 7, Jason Garrity 7, Nick Agertoft 4, Tobias Thomsen 2, Paco Castagna 1, Arran Butcher 0.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter