Thursday July 18, 2019
INJURY-HIT Birmingham head to Redcar on Friday without three of their top four riders (7.30).

Already missing injured duo Tero Aarnio and Ashley Morris, Edwards Plumbing Brummies will now be without club No.1 Adam Ellis for the foreseeable future too.

X-Rays have confirmed the Brit broke his collarbone after being collected by team-mate Danyon Hume in Heat 13 of Wednesday’s home defeat to the Bears.

Club bosses have been left scrambling around trying to piece together a makeshift side the trip to Teesside.

The club would like to thank Sheffield’s Ty Proctor and Berwick’s Jye Etheridge for stepping in at short notice with rider replacement in operation for Ellis.

“It’s been a nightmare and it’s been non-stop since about 9pm last night,” team boss Laurence Rogers said.

“We studied several options but with eight out of the 11 Championship clubs in action on Friday and riders racing left, right and centre it hasn’t been easy.

“Thankfully Ty and Jye have agreed to guest to us and hopefully we can go there and push Redcar with our makeshift team.

“Our main focus has to be on the meeting at Redcar – then we have to turn our attentions very quickly to our home meeting with Somerset on Wednesday as well as towards the rest of the season.

“Adam reckons he could be back within the month – but to me that’s very ambitious as it wasn’t a nice one at all.

“Ash paid to go private with some scans and x-rays and we should know the full extent of his wrist injury anytime in the next couple of days.

“Fingers crossed it’s not too bad, that he can strap it up and get back on the bike for us.

“It’s good news for Tero (Aarnio) though and we fully expect to see him back against Somerset.”

Redcar are without Erik Riss, who scored a maximum against the Edwards Plumbing Brummies on Wednesday, due to international commitments with Germany in the Speedway of Nations Finals.

REDCAR: Lewis Kerr, Kasper Andersen, Charles Wright, Jordan Stewart, Michael Palm Toft, Tom Woolley, Nathan Greaves.
BIRMINGHAM: Adam Ellis R/R, Nick Agertoft, Paco Castagna, Jye Etheridge, Ty Proctor, Danyon Hume, James Shanes.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter